Moving to Taiwan (Penghu)

Hello guys. I am Russian and I would love to move to Taiwan. First to study (masters) for two years and then I would love to stay. During my research on Taiwanes universities I discovered Penghu University of Science and Technology. Penghu seems like a very nice calm place, ocean is everywhere (that’s what I like), seems to have nice food and climate etc. Is there anyone who has been there? Mb someone studied in that uni? What are the advantages and disadvantages of the life there?
I know that many people call islands boring. But honestly I recently just decided that I want to live in the calm and warm place with ocean near me.
Any advices are apreciated.

4 Likes

Good luck!

Interesting idea. It’s a super small island, so I guess you better learn Chinese fast and well, and try to fit in :grandpa:

I hope someone here can help with 1st hand insights, although the chance seems not so high

I have been learning Chinese for almost 6 years (4 of them in the university). I am trying really hard to increase my level now. Thank you! I asked the advice in Russian forum, people just laughed at me and trolled me and brought me down. So unmotivating ;(

5 Likes

There is a Russian language Taiwan forum? :open_mouth:

Awesome, hope you learned Chinese not with a mainland accent ^^

You will definitely get some silly jokes here as well I’m afraid. But apart from that, I hope some good advice.

Some older threads:

3 Likes

I think they have no major hospitals there so they helicopter people over to K-town in an emergency?

1 Like

Nothing wrong with a proper Beijing accent like they still used on TV in the 1990s. But do switch the vocabulary: 道地 instead of 地道.

Kind of incorrect.
880, Taiwan, Penghu County, Magong City, 前寮里90號