Finding white-collar jobs in TW for Filipinos

Hi there! I’m new to Taiwan and just received a JFRV to join my husband who has been living in TW for a few years. I’m from the Philippines and am hoping to find a job in the field I’ve been working in for the past 10 years or so (supply chain purchasing). I speak fluent English but not much Chinese. Just wondering if anybody has any information on finding professional jobs in TW for Filipinos. Thanks :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum, @Orangeday.

I don’t have any direct answer to your inquiry, but link some threads which might have some info.

Recommended Taiwan jobsite for Non Chinese Speaker?

2 Likes

It’s easier if you know someone from within the company. Is your husband Taiwanese? His connections might help.

Most Taiwanese companies hire English speakers for English-related jobs. If the nature of the job requires you to speak/write English fluently, you might find something for you.

Taiwan is not like Singapore or Hong Kong in terms of job pool if you don’t have Chinese speaking skills at the very least.

3 Likes

The sort of job you’re looking for is tough to break into for all foreigners; and in fact there’s a distinct lack of potential employers since most manufacturing went to China. Your best bet, IMO, might be to start your own business, perhaps an import-export company getting goods from TW to PH. Think in terms of earning pesos rather than NTD.

5 Likes

Your citizenship isnt so important as you have open work rights with a jfrv i believ.

But if you cant speak the local language in a country and you want to do business it will be difficult. I think as finley suggests. Open up a company yourself and go from there. Doesnt need to be with your home country though it might be easier to start.

Purchasing is also often not needed as much as sales. If you use your experience to also open doors into sales/marketing you could find far more clients.