Teaching English while Transgender in Taiwan

Hi, I am a licensed high school teacher from the USA. I am also transgender. Are there any trans teachers on here that could tell me about their experience? Or anyone who knows trans teachers in Taiwan? Is it unrealistic for me to think about obtaining employment in Taiwan as a teacher for being trans? I understand if there are some difficulties–there are plenty here–but would like to know before committing to something in Taiwan.

1 Like

I knew a trans woman about a decade ago who taught in a buxiban in Taoyuan. She then moved down to Miaoli and basically ran a school there. She would occasionally wear women’s clothing around town in her free time, but she was gender neutral when teaching.

I am no longer in touch with her. However, it shows that trans women can land buxiban work.

2 Likes

There is at least one that owns a school.

Is that someone else? The trans woman I knew was made kind of manager of a school, director of studies I guess. She didn’t own it or have any financial investment.

Don’t know details. Daytime out male gay. Nighttime out trans.

I’ve known gay, bi, and people who consider themselves gender binary (The one where they can be male sometimes and female sometimes) who have taught in Taiwan. I think it’s very possible.

1 Like

To be clear, my gender presentation is and would be female all the time. I’ve been transitioning/out as trans for years at this point, and “pass” maybe half the time in public.

You are also probably thinking of gender queer, not gender binary.

Last year we heard from two members who identify as non-binary, one American and one Taiwanese. They might have some thoughts to share.

I believe one or both have left taiwan though. Maybe they will still chime in.